Panasonic HC55PP Noise Canceling Earbuds

This is some cool technology which has fascinated me for a long time.

I first tried this technology a few years back at a Brookstone store where they had a pair of Bose noise cancelling headphones. Putting them on, I immediately noticed a significant portion of low frequency background noise was eliminated. I could still hear ambient noise but it sounded filtered and cleaner.  I knew at some point I had to get some.

Fast forward a few years to now.  I picked up a pair of these earbuds. I did so knowing I would be flying and I wanted something to reduce the pain of flying. Consumer Reports rated this a best value.  What’s the verdict?

The unit requires one AAA battery. There is a volume control on the body. The unit must be on for sound to come through when attached to a MP3 player.

I tested it on TV channel static. The low frequency static decibel cancellation reduction was immediately noticeable. In addition, the overall dB level was reduced.  On the plane it canceled out the low frequency constant rumble.  Too bad it didn’t cancel out crying babies.

It is a definite keeper but as far as I can recollect the Bose headphones were better. But these cost less than $50 vs.$200 or more for the Bose.

Leave a Reply

