Schrade Tactical Pen – Worth It

So despite what I said about tactical pens in an earlier posting not being worth it and that a person could go with the Zebra F701, I bought a true tactical pen. Here’s the logic of why I did it:

  • I like pens
  • I set a self imposed limit of $30 for a pen. This one was less than that.
  • I wanted to know what a true tactical pen was as opposed to a sturdy pen like the the Zebra.
  • It looks cool. In fact, it looks identical to the Mil-tac pen.

Impressions of the Schrade:

  • It is a quality pen. While I paid around $25 for fountain pens, the fountain pales pale in comparison to the quality of the Schrade.  In fact, the Schrade is now the best quality pen I have. The fountain pens are injection molded plastic. The Schrade sports major amounts of machining on the aluminum.
  • It feels indestructible. Compared to all the ordinary pens I have, this one will survive the toughest “combat” I could imagine. Other pens would break or bend.
  • It is heavy compared to standard pens. Nonetheless, it balances well in writing.
  • The finger grooves near the writing end tip are a tad sharp. I couldn’t imagine writing a lengthy essay with this pen.
  • The flutes/blood groves on the barrel have a slight edge. I first feared it may cut the palm in heavy use. It still might happen but I see the logic of it in that provides a better grip.
  • The finish reportedly is Type III anodizing. It feels sturdier than the anodizing on a Maglite. We’ll see how that holds up.
  • It uses a German Hauser cartridge.  I like the ink flow better than the Zebra.
  • Slight digression. Make a fist. Take the rounded end of a pen and firmly tap the middle finger bone on the back of your fist. Ouch. Shock waves of pain! Now imagine imagine doing that a 100 times harder with the pointed end of the Schrade, which has some real heft and no give.

I highly recommend the Schrade. It’s cheap everyday carry insurance hidden in plain sight that can be deployed instantly without fumbling to get at when clipped in a shirt pocket.  Can you do that with your gun or knife?

5 Responses to Schrade Tactical Pen – Worth It

  1. […] Click here for a review of the Schrade Tactical Pen […]

  2. Big thanks. This goes in my EDC.

  3. grayswindir says:

    And you can get it in pink with hearts to further mask it’s tactical appearance.

  4. steve says:

    I have this and the uzi tacpen2 i recommend uzi tacpen2 because of its glass breaker

    • 910mmman says:

      Thanks for the tip on the Uzi, Steve. Here’s a few thoughts:

      I would definitely get one for a tactical pen collection but I wouldn’t want to carry it around. It’s definitely low cost enough to buy. A tactical pen imho should be very understated and discrete. The knurling and especially the glass breaker tip makes it stand out. Also the great thing about the Schrade is that it has a flat top thumb rest when holding in an ice pick grip.

Leave a Reply

