Purple Finch

purple_finch

Observed Nov 16, 2008.

The finches are difficult to properly identify for me. I know I’m supposed to look for the fork in the tail feathers. The common house finch has square tail feathers. I had a long opportunity to look at these for awhile and thought I saw the fork but then I also thought I saw the square tail. The bib didn’t seem quite as defined but blended into the chest.  I’m calling my observation to be purple finches with reservation that it may have been house finches.

There must have been at least 15 to 20 of these birds in the backyard.

Leave a Reply

