Baltimore Oriole

During spring 2008 maybe around April, I had my binoculars trained on a strange looking what I suspected to be a nest in a tree about 150 yards into the woods. Suddenly an intense orange colored bird with a black head that I had never seen before flew into the view.  I couldn’t believe my eyes. It was a Baltimore Oriole and it went into the underside of the nest. Wow.  They are supposed to relatively common but this was a first for me.

I looked at the Oriole for as long as it stayed. Since that time, foilage has covered up the nest, making observation impossible.

2 Responses to Baltimore Oriole

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Hello-

    I’m an exhibit researcher working with Howard County, Maryland, on a new nature center set to open next year. Your incredible photo of a Baltimore oriole at its nest would be a perfect fit for one of our exhibits, and I’d like to enquire if you’d consider donating or licensing this image to us for use in the exhibit.

    We’re a non profit, educational facility, and your image would be displayed on a permanent panel, at roughly 3″ across, carrying any credit line you wish.

    Thanks very much for your time, and we look forward to hearing from you.

    Best,
    Elizabeth Eubank

    Exhibit Coordinator, Howard Revis Design for Howard County, MD
    elizabeth@howardrevis.com
    202-577-5024

    • 910mmman says:

      Unfortunately that’s not a photo I took. It was in an email I received so the origin of it is unknown.

Leave a Reply

