Cooper’s Hawk

Observed October 5, 2008

Hawks are not a common visitor to our back yard. I’ve seen maybe four in the years we’ve been here.

I had a hard time determining if the hawk that was perched for over 1/2 hour on the back tree was a Sharp-Shinned or a Cooper’s. I finally decided it had a Cooper’s based upon its size which was slightly larger than a crow and because of its head size relative to its body. How did I know it was crow sized?  A crow landed on the tree about 15 ft above the hawk. I was surprised the crow didn’t call his buddies in to drive the hawk away. The hawk I saw had more of a bluish grayish back and also appeared to have yellow eyes.

Leave a Reply

